The winner will be chosen by the prominent Global Teacher Prize Academy made up of head-teachers, educational experts, commentators, journalists, public officials, tech entrepreneurs, company directors and scientists from around the world:

  • Moís Cherem Arana, Managing Director & CEO, Enova, Mexico
  • Gina Badenoch, Professional Photographer & Social Entrepreneur, Mexico
  • Loulwa Bakr, Investment Banker, Saudi Arabia
  • Analisa Balares, CEO & Founder, Womensphere; Chair, Womensphere Foundation, USA
  • Jeremy Balkin, Founder, Give While You Live, Australia
  • Rex A. Barnardo, Director of Research, Mabini Colleges, Philippines
  • Claire Boonstra, Founder, Operation Education, Netherlands
  • Katharina Borchert, CEO, Spiegel Online, Germany
  • Geoff Canada, CEO, Harlem Children’s Zone, USA
  • Merieme Chadid, Explorer and Astronomer, Antarctica Research Station
  • Timothy Chen, Vice-President, Business Development and Strategy, VIA Technologies, HTC-VIA, Taiwan
  • Vicky Colbert, Founder and Director, Fundación Escuela Nueva, Colombia
  • Karen Davila, News Anchor and Correspondent, ABS-CBN Television Network, Philippines
  • Eva Dichand, Editor, Heute, Austria
  • Baroness Martha Lane Fox, UK
  • Ayla Goksel, CEO, ACEV, Turkey
  • Soulaima Gourani, Author, Denmark
  • Vandana Goyal, CEO, The Akanksha Foundation, India
  • Tariq Al Gurg, CEO, Dubai Cares, UAE
  • Avril Halstead, Chief Director, National Treasury, South Africa
  • Dave Hanley, Principal, Deloitte Digital, USA
  • Claire Hsu, Co-Founder & Executive Director, Asia Art Archive, Hong Kong
  • Hadeel Ibrahim, Executive Director, Mo Ibrahim Foundation, USA
  • Nik Kafka, Founder & CEO, Teach A Man To Fish, UK
  • Nitsara Karoonuthaisiri, Head, Microarray Laboratory, National Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, Thailand
  • Herman Kasekende, CEO & MD, Standard Chartered Bank, Uganda
  • Kasim Kasuri, CEO Beaconhouse School System, Pakistan
  • Christopher Khaemba, Governor, Centre for Mathematics, Science, and Technology Education in Africa, Kenya
  • Thura Ko Ko, Managing Director, YGA Capital, Myanmar
  • Lin Kobayashi, Co-Founder and 
Chair of the Board, Foundation for International School of Asia, Karuizawa, Japan
  • Wendy Kopp, Founder, Teach for America, USA
  • Areena Loo, Founder & Chief Executive, Bridge Learning, Singapore
  • Shalini Mahtani, Founder, The Zubin Foundation, Hong Kong
  • Strive Masiyiwa, Founder & Executive Chairman, Econet Wireless, South Africa
  • Munira Mirza, Deputy Mayor of London, UK
  • Gemma Mortensen, Executive Director, Crisis Action, UK
  • Futhi Mtoba, Chairperson, Deloitte South Africa
  • Luis Alberto Moreno, President, Inter-American Development Bank, USA
  • Ory Okolloh, Director of Investments, Omidyar Network Africa, South Africa
  • Lopa Patel, Editor,, UK
  • Ana Gabriela Pessoa, Chief Executive Officer and Founder, Ezlearn, Brazil
  • Chris Pope, Co-Director, The Prince’s Teaching Institute, UK
  • Arif Rachmat, Director, Triputra Investindo Arya (Triputra Group), Indonesia
  • John Riady, Executive Director, LIPPO Group, Indonesia
  • David Rodin, Philosopher, Switzerland
  • Esperanza Spalding, Grammy winning music artist, USA
  • Angela A. Sun, Chief‐of‐Staff to the President and CEO of Bloomberg, L.P. USA.
  • Le Thu Thu Thuy, Vice-Chairwoman and Chief Executive Officer, Vingroup Joint Stock Company, Vietnam
  • Jubril Adewale Tinubu, Group CEO, Oando, Nigeria
  • Brett Wigdortz, CEO, Teach First, UK
  • Jiang Xueqin, Vice-Principal, Tsinghua International School, China
  • Yan Yanovskiy, Founder and Managing Partner, First Nation Société Bancaire, Russia


Get Teacher Prize Updates

Connect With Us

The Global Teacher Prize is brought to you by Varkey Foundation.

To learn more about Varkey Foundation, please visit