Google+

Conditions générales

Le Global Teacher Prize de la Fondation Varkey

Conditions générales

En participant à ce concours (ci-après dénommé le « Concours »), chaque personne qui s’inscrit ou qui est nommée (ci-après dénommée le « Candidat ») accepte et consent à être liée par les conditions générales suivantes :

  1. Introduction. La Fondation Varkey (ci-après dénommée « VF») lance le Global Teacher Prize d’un montant d’un million de dollars (ci-après dénommé le « Prix») pour rendre hommage à l’importance du métier d’enseignant et promouvoir l’excellence en matière d’enseignement. Le Prix sera attribué sous le patronage de Son Altesse le cheikh Mohammed ben Rachid Al Maktoum, vice-président et Premier ministre des Émirats arabes unis et émir de Dubaï. Les candidatures doivent être déposées entre le 7 juin et le 8 octobre 2017. Le nom du gagnant sera annoncé lors du Global Education and Skills Forum 2018. La procédure de sélection sera vérifiée par PriceWaterhouseCoopers.
  2. Éligibilité. Pour être éligible, un Candidat doit :
  • être âgé d’au moins dix-huit (18) ans au moment de l’inscription ;
  • enseigner ou fournir un soutien éducatif à des élèves dont l’âge varie entre 5 et 18 ans dans le cadre d’un établissement d’enseignement obligatoire ;
  • ne pas être interdit de participer au Concours ou de recevoir le Prix en vertu de la loi en vigueur ;
  • ne pas avoir de casier judiciaire ;
  • ne pas s’être conduit (par action ou omission) de sorte à porter atteinte (déterminée à la seule discrétion de VF) au métier d’enseignant ou à VF, ses affiliés, ou leurs directeurs, membres, employés, agents et filiales respectifs (ci-après dénommés les « Parties VF») ;
  • ne pas avoir été le lauréat du prix auparavant;
  • ne pas avoir été parmi les 10 finalistes auparavant.

 

  1. Comment s’inscrire. Pour vous inscrire, remplissez le formulaire de candidature et suivez les instructions sur le site internet www.globalteacherprize.org
  2. Critères de sélection. Les jurés évalueront les candidatures en se basant sur les critères suivants :
  • Reconnaissance des accomplissements du professeur dans la classe et au-delà de la part des élèves, collègues, directeurs et chefs d’établissements ou membres de la collectivité au sens large ;
  • Utilisation de pratiques pédagogiques innovantes et efficaces ;
  • Obtention de résultats tangibles quant à l’apprentissage des élèves dans la classe ;
  • Préparation des enfants à devenir des citoyens d’un monde dans lequel ils seront amenés à rencontrer des personnes issues de différentes religions, cultures et nationalités ;
  • Réalisation d’accomplissements en dehors de la classe offrant des modèles d’excellence notables et uniques en leur genre pour la profession d’enseignant et pour les autres ;
  • Encouragements à exercer le métier d’enseignant. Participation à des débats publics sur le métier d’enseignant, que ce soit par la rédaction d’articles, la tenue de blogs, la participation dans le cadre des médias et l’organisation de campagnes, d’événements ou de conférences sur les médias sociaux.

 

  1. Procédure de sélection.
  • Une fois le processus de candidature clôt, les candidatures seront évaluées et lues par un groupe de juges en ligne, qui sélectionneront 50 finalistes.
  • Le premier comité de jurés (ci-après dénommé « Comité du Prix ») se réunira au mois de novembre 2017 pour sélectionner dix finalistes.
  • La Global Teacher Prize Academy (le groupe final de juges) sélectionnera ensuite le gagnant, par le biais d’un système de vote en ligne sécurisé, sujet à un examen et à des vérifications des antécédents et des références supplémentaires.
  • Le processus de sélection complet sera surveillé et contrôlé par PricewaterhouseCoopers afin d’en assurer la transparence.

 

 

  1. Post-sélection.
  • Le Prix sera octroyé via des versements annuels de 100 000 USD sur une période de dix (10) ans, et sera soumis aux taxes et autres prélèvements imposés par la législation en vigueur, le cas échéant.
  • Durant cette période de dix (10) ans, le lauréat ne doit pas se conduire (par action ou omission) de sorte à porter atteinte au métier d’enseignant ou à l’une quelconque des parties VF (déterminé à la seule discrétion de VF).
  • Le lauréat doit assister aux sessions de conseils financiers dispensées gratuitement par VF.
  • Pendant une période de cinq (5) ans à compter de la remise du Prix au gagnant, celui-ci doit : (i) continuer à enseigner ou apporter un soutien éducatif à des élèves dont l’âge est compris entre 5 et 18 ans dans le cadre d’un établissement scolaire (sauf en cas de départ à la retraite normal) et (ii) exercer les fonctions d’Ambassadeur mondial pour VF. Être Ambassadeur mondial pour VF implique, sans s’y limiter, d’assister aux événements, de s’adresser aux médias, de suivre des formations et d’autres engagements en dehors des heures de travail, pendant les week-ends et/ou pendant les vacances. VF prendra en charge tous les frais liés aux trajets et à l’hébergement ainsi que l’organisation de ces derniers.

 

  1. Conditions et limitations :
  • Limite d’une candidature par Candidat.
  • Les candidats ne parvenant pas au Top 50 ou aux stades ultérieurs ne recevront pas de notification. Les inscriptions ne seront pas renvoyées.
  • Les Candidats ne seront pas remboursés des frais en lien avec l’envoi de la Candidature.
  • VF n’est pas responsable des inscriptions perdues, arrivées en retard ou mal acheminées.
  • Lors de la réception, les Candidats accordent à VF une licence mondiale non exclusive, irrévocable et libre de droits d’utiliser et modifier la Candidature, en totalité ou en partie, à des fins commerciales ou autres, sans aucun paiement ou autre considération, pour une utilisation dans tous les médias actuellement connus ou découverts par la suite, à perpétuité, dans la limite permise par la loi.
  • En s’inscrivant au présent Concours, chaque Candidat dégage entièrement et à tout jamais les Parties VF de toutes responsabilités, réclamations, causes d’action, poursuites et demandes de toute sorte (ci-après dénommées « Réclamations») résultant de ou en lien avec le Concours. Le Candidat préservera également les Parties VF de toutes les Réclamations émanant de tierces parties en lien avec la participation du Candidat au présent Concours ou la violation des présentes Conditions générales par le Candidat.
  • Les Candidats affirment qu’ils disposent : (i) de tous les droits de propriété intellectuelle pour l’ensemble du contenu de leurs documents de Candidature et (ii) de l’autorité pour envoyer ces documents et concéder la licence décrite ici. Les Candidats doivent entièrement préserver les Parties VF de toute réclamation de parties tierces résultant directement ou indirectement de la violation de cette déclaration.
  • Les Candidats autorisent l’utilisation de leur nom et image dans des publicités sans préavis ni compensation supplémentaire, sauf si la loi l’interdit. Le lauréat reconnaît que VF dispose du droit de divulguer et diffuser le nom, la voix et l’image du vainqueur, le fait que cette personne ait gagné et toutes les questions qui s’y rapportent. VF n’est pas tenue d’attribuer une Candidature au Candidat qui l’a envoyée.
  • À la discrétion de VF, il peut être demandé au Candidat de fournir une preuve de conformité à l’une des présentes Conditions générales, quelle qu’elle soit.
  • Toute information personnelle non incluse dans les documents de Candidature recueillis en lien avec le présent Concours peut être utilisée aux seules fins de l’administration du concours et sera recueillie, utilisée et conservée conformément à la politique de confidentialité de VF qui se trouve à l’adresse suivante : https://www.varkeygemsfoundation.org/privacy.
  • Les vainqueurs seront seuls responsables des taxes encourues par leur participation au concours. VF signalera ou refusera toute victoire individuelle conformément à la loi en vigueur.
  • VF se réserve le droit de mettre fin au Concours sans attribuer le Prix si aucun vainqueur éligible ne réclame le Prix dans les délais requis.
  • Malgré toute autre disposition des présentes Conditions générales, VF se réserve le droit de : (i) s’abstenir de payer l’une ou l’ensemble des portions du Prix et/ou (ii) demander au vainqueur de rembourser toute portion du Prix déjà versé si, à tout moment après l’attribution du Prix au vainqueur, il a été découvert que : (x) l’un des documents de Candidature était faux ou mensonger de quelque façon que ce soit, (y) le vainqueur n’était en fait pas éligible ou (z) que l’une des Conditions générales quelle qu’elle soit a par ailleurs été violée.
  • Les présentes Conditions générales sont soumises à modification par VF à sa seule discrétion.
  • Le présent Concours est nul et sans effet si la loi l’interdit ou le restreint. Chacune des présentes Conditions générales est soumise à la loi en vigueur.
  • Le présent Concours et les présentes Conditions générales sont régis par les lois d’Angleterre et du Pays de Galles, sans égard aux principes des conflits des lois. Toute prétention ou tout différend résultant de ou en lien avec le présent Concours ou les présentes Conditions générales est soumis(e) à la juridiction non exclusive des tribunaux de l’Angleterre.

From the Blog

Global Teacher Prize Inspires Over 20 National Teacher Prizes

Global Teacher Prize Inspires Over 20 National Teacher Prizes

The success of the Varkey Foundation’s US $1M Global Teacher Prize, now celebrating its third year of success, has inspired National Teacher Prizes in over 20 nations. Colombia was the first country to start its own prize, with the backing and support of the Varkey Foundation. And since the [...]

Read More

Meet the Global Teacher Prize Winner 2017

Meet the Global Teacher Prize Winner 2017

In one of the world’s most remote regions, surrounded by snow and ice, Maggie McDonnell is changing the lives of her students and transforming her community. The winner of the Global Teacher Prize Winner 2017 lives and works in Salluit, an Inuit village deep in the Canadian Arctic. The [...]

Read More

These are the 10 best teachers in the world

These are the 10 best teachers in the world

We’ve all had teachers who have inspired us, who have made a difference to our lives. Teachers have the power to make or break lives. A great lesson can inspire a passion for a subject that lasts a lifetime, while lacklustre teaching can kill any desire for learning. Teachers who make a [...]

Read More

Google+

Terms and Conditions

Varkey Foundation Global #TeacherPrize

Terms and Conditions

By participating in this contest (“Contest“), each person who applies or is nominated (“Applicant”) accepts and agrees to be bound by the following terms and conditions:

1. Introduction:
The Varkey Foundation (“VF”) is launching a US$1,000,000 Global Teacher Prize (“Prize”) to recognize the importance of the teaching profession and promote excellence in teaching. The Prize will be awarded under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Mohammad Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, UAE Vice President and Prime Minister, Ruler of Dubai. Submissions may be made between 8th June 2016 and 14 October 2016. The winner will be announced during the Global Education and Skills Forum 2017. The selection process will be audited by PriceWaterhouseCoopers.

2. Eligibility:
To be eligible, an Applicant must:

  • be at least eighteen (18) years old at time of entry;
  • teach or provide educational support to students between the ages of 5 and 18 in a compulsory setting;
  • not be prohibited from participating in the Contest or receiving the Prize under applicable law;
  • not have a criminal record;
  • not have conducted themselves (by act or omission) in such a way as to bring the teaching profession or VF, its affiliates, or their respective directors, officers, employees, agents, and subsidiaries (“VF Parties”) into disrepute (as may be determined at the sole discretion of VF);
  • not be a previous Prize winner; and
  • not be a previous Top 10 candidate.

3. How to enter:
To enter, complete the application form and follow the instructions on the website www.globalteacherprize.org.

4. Selection Criteria:
The judges will evaluate Applications based on the following criteria:

  • Recognition of a teacher’s achievements in the classroom and beyond from pupils, colleagues, head-teachers or members of the wider community;
  • Employing innovative and effective instructional practices;
  • Achieving demonstrable student learning outcomes in the classroom;
  • Preparing children to be global citizens in a world where they will encounter people from many different religions, cultures and nationalities;
  • Achievements in the community beyond the classroom that provide unique and distinguished models of excellence for the teaching profession and others;
  • Encouraging others to joint he teaching profession. Contributing to public debates on the teaching profession, whether through writing articles, blogs, media particiaption, social media campaigns, events of conferences

5. Selection Process:

  • Once the application process has closed, applications will be scored and read by a panel of online judges who will select the Top 50 Finalists.
  • The first Committee of judges (“Prize Committee“) will meet in November 2016 to select the Top 10 Finalists.
  • The Global Teacher Prize Academy (the final panel of judges) will then select the winner, throguh a secure online voting system, subject to additional screening, background and reference checks.
  • The whole selection process will be monitored and audited by PricewaterhouseCoopers to ensure transparency.

6. Post-selection:

  • The Prize will be paid in equal annual installments of US$100,000 over a period of ten (10) years, subject to any tar or other withholding required under applicable law.
  • During this ten (10) year period, the winner shall not conduct themselves (by act or omission) in such a way as to bring the teaching profession or any of the VF Parties into disrepute (as may be determined at the sole discretion of VF).
  • The winner must attend financial counseling sessions provided free-of-charge by VF.
  • For a period of five (5) years after the awarding of the Prize to the winner, the winner must: (i) continue to teach or provide educational support to students between the ages of 5 and 18 in a school setting (unless due to natural retirement) and (ii) serve as Global Ambassador for VF. Serving as Global Ambassador for VF shall include but not be limited to attending events, speaking to the media, undertaking training and other commitments outside of working hours, on weekends and/or on holidays. VF will pay for and arrange all travel and accommodation.

7. Conditions and Limitations:

  • Limit one application per Applicant.
  • Applicants who do not progress to the Top 50 stage or beyond will not receive notification. Entries will not be returned.
  • Applicants will not be reimbursed for any costs incurred in connection with submitting the Application.
  • VF is not responsible for lost, late, or misdirected entries.
  • Upon submission, Applicants grant VF a non-exclusive, irrevocable, royalty-free and worldwide license to use and modify the Application, in whole or in part, for commercial and other purposes, without any payment or other consideration, for use in any media now known or hereafter discovered, in perpetuity, to the extent legally permissible.
  • By entering this Contest, each Applicant forever discharges and releases the VF Parties from any and all liability, claims, causes of action, suits, and demands of any kind (“Claims”) arising from or in connection with the Contest. Applicant also indemnifies the VF Parties from all Claims arising from third parties in relation to Applicant’s participation in this Contest or the breach of any of these Terms and Conditions by the Applicant.
  • Applicants represent that they have: (i) all intellectual property rights to all of the content of their Application materials and (ii) the authority to submit these materials and to grant the license described herein. Applicants shall fully indemnify the VF Parties for all third party Claims arising directly or indirectly from breach of this representation.
  • Applicants agree to the use of their name and likeness in publicity without notice or any additional compensation, except where prohibited by law. The winner acknowledges that VF has the right to publicize and broadcast the winner’s name, voice, and likeness, the fact that they won, and all matters incidental thereto. VF is not obligated to attribute an Application to the Applicant who submitted it.
  • At VF’s discretion, Applicant may be required to provide proof of compliance with any of these Terms and Conditions.
  • Any personal information not included in the Application materials collected in connection with this Contest is solely for the purpose of Contest administration and will be collected, used, and maintained according to VF’s Privacy Policy which can be found at: https://www.varkeyfoundation.org/privacy.
  • Winners will be solely responsible for any and all taxes incurred by their participation in the contest. VF will report or withhold any individual winnings in accordance with applicable law.
  • VF reserves the right to terminate the Contest without awarding the Prize if no eligible winner claims the Prize within the required time.
  • Notwithstanding any other provision of these Terms and Conditions, VF reserves the right to: (i) desist from paying any and all Prize money and/or (ii) require the winner to return any Prize money already disbursed if, at any point after the award of the Prize to the winner, it is discovered that: (x) any of the Application material was false or misleading in any way, (y) the winner was not in fact eligible or (z) that any of these Terms and Conditions have otherwise been breached.
  • These Terms and Conditions are subject to modification by VF in its sole discretion.
  • This Contest is void where prohibited or restricted by law. Each of these Terms and Conditions is subject to applicable law.
  • This Contest and these Terms and Conditions shall be governed by the laws of England and Wales, without regard to any conflicts of law principles. Any and all claims or disputes arising out of or in connection with this Contest or these Terms and Conditions shall be subject to the non-exclusive jurisdiction of English courts.

From the Blog

These are the 10 best teachers in the world

These are the 10 best teachers in the world

We’ve all had teachers who have inspired us, who have made a difference to our lives. Teachers have the power to make or break lives. A great lesson can inspire a passion for a subject that lasts a lifetime, while lacklustre teaching can kill any desire for learning. Teachers who make a [...]

Read More

Teachers are changing - this is why, and how

Teachers are changing - this is why, and how

In the age of smartphones and tablets, children have more choice than ever before over what kind of information they can choose to consume, and how. This can make it difficult for traditional methods of teaching to be sufficiently challenging, engaging and relevant. Equally, when every [...]

Read More

Ever wondered why teachers teach? Here are 7 excellent reasons

Ever wondered why teachers teach? Here are 7 excellent reasons

There are as many reasons to teach as there are teachers. For some, it’s a lifelong vocational calling, others stumble on a career they find (often to their surprise) that they are good at. Being part of the transformative force that is education can be a powerful thing, but so too is [...]

Read More